Upon Your Grave

Standard

My grandfather loved me with all his heart.

I was swimming in red; drowning in greed.

He tugged me out, and gave me a head start.

Told me to run, to never stop to bleed.

He knew me better than I knew myself.

He felt my rage and didn’t blow it out.

I was lost, but he was sure of himself.

Confident; without so much as a doubt.

I ran and I ran, and red turned to grey.

Frail, I fell; grey to blue, I felt the wave.

Tremendous it was, I had lost my way.

All-consuming, it led up to his grave.

With tears overflowing, I now know why.

I had to fall, let the rage go, to cry.

Leave a Reply

