Burned Out

Standard

I thought I could do it.
I thought it’d be easy.
Didn’t think we were a fit,
But life can only be so breezy.

Now when I think about how it would be,
I can’t help but recline,
And think about me.

I think we all deserve better than that,
And someone far less cold.
Something not so unreasonably flat.
Something not so unemotionally bold.

My future is dependent on my choices.
I have to do what is best for me.
So far I’m the only one who voices,
Who states what should be.

What should be,
Is not what would come to be.
I know this now,
And I knew this then.
I’d raise my brow,
Question when,
I’d been so blind,
To see your kind.

I know what I have to do,
And I don’t want to do it.
I have to step up too,
And cast water onto the flame I had lit.

Leave a Reply

