Journal #10 – Honesty Hour

Standard

-Special Topic: What is Honesty Hour, and why are you doing it?

  Honesty Hour is that nagging voice in the back of your mind that urges you to do the honest thing, and to say the honest word. Now, Honesty Hour isn’t so much a movement as it is a drive; a strive to be better than who you were yesterday.

   And honesty comes in many forms. You have to be honest with yourself when it comes to both the big and the small things, whether that’s with your feelings or body image or aspirations. Everything in between also has to be accounted for.

     On the other side of it, you have to be honest with others. And that means everyone. This is where that voice sort of dies down or is squashed by doubts and uncertainty. You have to be honest with your parents, family, friends, significant other, and even your professors if need be. Being honest means being truthful about how you feel with that given person, and what you feel is weighing in your heart to be said. Maybe you’re hurting, or maybe you have something that needs to be said. Either way, Honesty Hour is about doing what can be so very difficult, but needs to be done.

        Lastly, you have to be honest with the world that you live in. You have to accept reality, and you have to be honest with where you fall within this world. This can help paint a picture as to where you want to go and how you plan to get there. It can also mean you have to reevaluate your association with social media if it bombards your day-to-day life in a negative way, or if it leads you into believing false ideals.

       So, why have I taken Honesty Hour into my daily life? It’s the million dollar question. I used to like to think that I was a pretty honest person, and then I realized that I wasn’t even being honest to myself in saying such a thing.

I let myself be honest to a point; enough for me to say that I was honest, but not enough for me to actually believe it.

  When I came back from college I knew that I had changed, but I didn’t understand the extent of that change until two weeks ago. I concluded that what had changed about me was my willingness to change and to grow. I’m willing to take leaps when faith demands it, and I’m willing to learn how to be honest with myself and the world.

So far, I know the cost that Honesty Hour may have when it comes to my relationships with others. But I feel like it’s a necessary price if you truly want to be a better person. I’m afraid that I might lose some people along the way, or maybe even tarnish some friendships in doing so. Though, something wonderful and genuine can come out of it as well.

   It’s hard trying to be honest all the time. I didn’t even realize the mark upon my tongue from all the times I would bite back my tongue from being too honest. And what is “too honest?” There is no such thing. You can’t be too honest; you can only be too afflicted. Honesty can hurt, but that pain is usually because hopes were held too high or because you were hit where you haven’t been hit before.

It’s a long and torturous process at times, but it is surely well worth it. I have learned so much about myself. I am more aware of how I am towards others, and how I appear to be. I’m likewise more at peace with myself than ever before. It’s an exciting journey really, and I hope others will start upon this trek as well. You can never be too better of a person than how you were the day before.

Leave a Reply

