Journal #25- Powerful Influences, 3

Standard

Topic: Who are the 3 people who had the most powerful influence on you?

       The three people who have had the greatest influence on me ever would have to be my mother, my grandparents, and my first+second crush(?). Although, the third one is debatable. My mind is sort of at a loss right now.

   My mom is a strong woman. She’s independent and she knows how to carry herself with ease. I used to think that I was very different from her, but I’m not. I followed in her footsteps, though at times I certainly circled around or walked in place. She encouraged me to do the best that I can in school, even if my best wasn’t the greatest. She was there for me on all kinds of levels in ways that others haven’t always been. It would be an injustice for me not to list her as one of my most powerful influences.

My second is a collective group, from both sides of my family. On my dad’s side, I have my grandpa and my grandma, as well as my great-grandmother. My great-grandmother means the world to me. And that is far from an overstatement. She speaks Spanish only so there’s always been a language barrier between us, but I am still very close to her. My grandparents are constantly there for me, and I love to give them a reason to be proud of me. Though I doubt they would ever claim to be anything but proud.

           As for my grandparents on my mom’s side, my grandma is a notable presence in my life. She is a kind-hearted woman who everyone can’t help but love. She teaches me to be nice and honest, as well as humble. My grandfather taught me how to be tough as nails, and how to watch over myself. I think I got my headstrong-character from him. I love him so much and I miss him dearly. He definitely was a powerful influence on me when it came to thinking of my future career and making me the woman that I am now.

         Then there was the last one. Why did I say that my first and second crush had a powerful influence on me? There are surely a lot of people who have influenced me throughout my lifetime, but I feel as though their combined influence should add them to the list. My first crush was a gentleman and a genuinely good guy down to the core. He gave me an ideal as to what to look for in a man, and I think that sent off a foundation to build on. Also, with him I became aware of my insecurities when I was beginning to enter my teen years. And this was a solid five years ago I believe. I learned what I had to work on when it came to loving myself.

With the second crush, I became closer to God. He didn’t push me towards anything whatsoever, but his path was something that always astounded me. We were going on different roads in life, and I knew early on that our roads didn’t intertwine. He was also a great guy, and he still is a great guy. I’m proud of where he wants to go in life, and I wish that life called to me too. He helped me realize where I wanted to be in the future, and he probably doesn’t even know it. The realizations I had over time with both of these two guys are what adds them to my top three most powerful influences. So many people have greatly influenced me though, so it was hard to pick just three.

Leave a Reply

