Journal #36- Strangers

Standard

Topic: Did you ever help a stranger?

I’ve helped strangers in the past. I’ve helped elderly people open the door or with their carts and so on. I’ve kept an eye on young children on the street or at a park when I see that their parents have looked away. It’s something I feel like I have to do. I’m always worried that a kid will run into the middle of the street or that a kid will be abducted if no one is paying them much attention.

The scary thing is, is that if I saw a kid run into traffic, I don’t doubt for a second that I’d run right in there after them. That’s a dangerous thought, but I know that I would. A form of protectiveness washes over me.

I don’t know if I’ve made a lasting impression on a stranger by helping them. I also can’t recall a time I’ve gone crazy far out of my way to help someone. It’s not that I wouldn’t, but I don’t think I’ve had to just yet.

I do love to help people. It’s a rewarding thing in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

