HH Daily Journal 1 – Greed

Standard

Topic: On the subject of greed.
Yesterday in my environment history class we were going over the topic of greed. It’s a topic I haven’t used in one of my essays. I feel like I can’t form a strong position on the topic. Were the Native Americans as greedy as the white settlers when it came to the destruction of the bison? Were settlers moving west greedy for wanting more land for their children? Were the individual farmers greedy for producing far more wheat then they should have in order to keep up with the decline in the economy? Are we greedy for wanting a higher income if what we’re making is enough to get by?
Who decides on the distinction between greedy and want? Is greed synonymous to profit?
Too many questions, too little time.
Someone define greed as wanting more than you need. I don’t know where my definition lies, but I think we throw the word around too often.
We can look at the past through one given perspective and claim that they were greedy, but what of the other dozen perspectives? What of theirs? Who is telling the story, and why does their story matter? This is why I can’t form an argument for or against greed. I’m still working on my definition.

Leave a Reply

