HH Journal 3 – To Save the World

Standard

Topic: free-flowing.
I don’t want to save the world, I want the world to save me. Chances are though, we all need a little bit of saving.
Some nations need saving from the demise of a political entity. Other landscapes need saving from degradation, among other things. Species need saving. Ideals need saving. The question as to who should be doing the saving, and why we need a savior to begin with, comes to mind.
Now, I’m not talking about a religious savior, and I’m not talking about a surge in beliefs. I’m talking about hands-on rescuing from an otherwise likely demise.
Things come and things go. I don’t want to save the world because it’s a feat too impossible for me to confront. It is also a task that I’m not knowledgeable to undertake. No one truly is.
I want to save threatened and endangered animals, and I want to save a justice system. I want to save myself along the way, as I want to save the world for future generations.
There’s so much saving that needs to happen, and I feel like we all tend to look at a handful of certain tasks to focus on. I don’t think it’s wrong. I just wish the world didn’t need this saving to begin with.
That’s such a loaded thing to want. And to be honest, I don’t know how such a world would look like.
I want to help save this world with my time and my energy and my concepts, but I know that I’ll need much more than myself to do that. Ignorance to one’s limits can be a dreadful thing. Empower yourself and know that earth can only be pushed so far, and that it will require a cooperative effort to make necessary changes worldwide.

Leave a Reply

