Transposition

Standard

I put them in my shoes.
They’re looking back at me,
Afraid and confused.
You see,
I’m holding the bomb,
They’re trying to diffuse.
I hold the key,
And I know they want me to lose.

You won’t grasp it,
Until it confronts you.
Maybe you’d understand,
And maybe you’d cry too.

But the scenarios don’t change.
We don’t swap for what’s best.
We remain who we are,
Never pondering what we’re not.

This is me,
They are they.
I won’t go out to play today,
Or tomorrow or the day after,
Because they transposed fear out of my laughter.

Leave a Reply

